
 

Lookback Periods for States Participating in National 

Nexus Program 

 

The lookback period includes the prior complete tax filing periods for which 

a taxpayer applying for voluntary disclosure relief must generally file returns 

and pay the past-due tax liability plus interest in return for the state’s waiver 

of tax liability for periods prior to the lookback period and penalties.  The 

lookback period also includes the current incomplete tax filing period, the 

return for which must be timely filed and tax paid when due.  The prior and 

current tax filing periods are determined based on the date that the 

application is received by National Nexus Program staff.  Each state 

determines its own lookback period.  Lookback periods may vary between 

states. The lookback periods published in the chart below are provided for 

guidance purposes only to assist taxpayers seeking voluntary disclosure relief 

in estimating the amount of past-due tax liability payment that may be 

required.  For states that have most recently implemented sales/use tax 

economic nexus, if the taxpayer has only sales/use tax economic nexus and 

no physical presence in that state, the sales/use tax lookback period would 

commence not earlier than the state's sales/use tax economic nexus 

implementation date. For those states, see the chart entitled "Sales/Use Tax 

Lookback Periods for Taxpayers with Economic Nexus Only."  As each state 

makes the final determination of the lookback period following review of the 

taxpayer’s application, the guidance provided in the chart below does not 

constitute specific advice and accordingly should not be relied upon without 

further confirmation from the state(s). Withholding tax retained from 

employee salaries and sales/use tax collected from others must be remitted 

in its entirety, may involve non-waivable penalties, and may cause the 

lookback period to commence when such tax was first collected. 
 

 
 



Column1 Column2 Column3 STATE LOOKBACK PERIODS
Nexus Program States Income/franchise tax Sales/Use Tax

Lookback period 
(complete prior tax 
years)

Lookback 
period 
(complete prior 
months) Notes

Alabama 3 36
Arizona 4 48 Lookback period for TPT/use tax is 48 months.
Arkansas 3 36
Colorado 4 36
Connecticut 3 36
D.C. 3 36 Lookback period for franchise tax is prior 3 tax years.

Delaware 5 n/a
Lookback period is normally current year plus 5 previous years, greater in some 
circumstances.

Florida 3 36 Lookback period includes the 3 years immediately preceding the date of the VDA request.

Georgia 3 36 Lookback period may be reduced/eliminated if no liability or refunds/losses exist.

Hawaii 3 n/a
The lookback period for both general excise (gross income) tax and corporation net 
income tax is 3 complete prior tax years plus the current year.

Idaho 3 36 Lookback period may vary depending on specific facts and circumstances of request.

Iowa 5 60
Lookback period is one-half of the periods normally due, with maximum of 5 years (20 
quarters, 60 months).

Kansas 3 36 Kansas will consider allowing a longer lookback period if requested.
Kentucky 4 48

Louisiana 3 36
Sales/use tax lookback period is 36 months plus any months due for the current calendar 
year.

Maryland 4 48
Massachusetts 3 36 Lookback period can be 7 years for in-state entity.
Michigan 4 48

Minnesota 4 36

Lookback period for corporate francise tax, S corporation tax, and partnership tax is 
generally 4 years (3 lookback years and 1 current year ready and available to be filed). 
Sales/use tax lookback period is 48 months when there is collected but unremitted tax.

Missouri 4 48
For franchise tax years beginning on or after 1/1/2016, no franchise tax is imposed under 
RSMO 147.010.

Montana 5 n/a Montana has no state sales/use tax.
Nebraska 3 36
New Hampshire 3 36
New Jersey 4 48

New Mexico
SEE MANAGED AUDIT 

PROCEDURES
North Carolina 3 36

North Dakota 3 36

While the general lookback period is 3 years, a longer lookback period may apply to 
circumstances where it is clear a significant taxable presence in the state existed prior 
thereto.

Oklahoma 3 36
Oregon 3 n/a Oregon has no sales/use tax.

Rhode Island 3 36 Lookback period is 3 years for income/franchise tax and 36 months for sales/use tax
South Carolina 3 36
South Dakota 3 36 Lookback period is 3 prior tax years for bank franchise tax.

Tennessee 3 36
Lookback period is 3 prior tax years plus current year. For both taxes, it could be up to 4 
years or 48 months.

Texas 4 48
Utah 3 36
Vermont 3 36

Washington 4 48
Lookback period is prior 4 caendar years plus the current year through the end of the last 
completed calendar quarter.

West Virginia 3 36
The franchise tax ceased for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, under W. 
Va. Code Section 11-23-6(b)(11).

Wisconsin 4 48
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