

[Draft] Minutes of Litigation Committee meeting

# Monday, July 24, 2023

8:30 a.m. Austin, Texas Time

# I. Introductions and Opening Remarks

Chair Ray Langenberg, Texas, convened the meeting shortly after 8:30 a.m. Austin time and asked attendees to introduce themselves.

The following people attended the meeting either in person or remotely:

Lisa Ables	Arkansas Department of Administration & Finance
David Avery	Alabama Department of Revenue
William Barber	Multistate Tax Commission
Kathryn Bleazard	Utah Attorney General
Shannon Brandt	Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Ronald "Bryan" Brashears	Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Gil Brewer	Washington State Department of Revenue
Jenny Burleson	Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Susan Carlson	Multistate Tax Commission
Mark Chaiken	New Mexico Department of Taxation and Revenue
Kevin Christian	Arkansas Department of Administration & Finance
Ralph Clements	Alabama Department of Revenue
Brian Collins	Oregon Department of Justice
Richard Cram	Multistate Tax Commission
Matt Danielson	North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner
Cassie Diemert	Minnesota Department of Revenue
Charles Dendy	North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner
Lila Disque	Multistate Tax Commission
Jeremy Eiden	Minnesota Department of Revenue
Sandi Farquharson	Ryan LLC
Michael Fatale	Massachusetts Department of Revenue
Brian Fliflet	Illinois Department of Revenue
Bruce Fort	Multistate Tax Commission
Katie Frank	California Franchise Tax Board
Paul Gehring	Arkansas Department of Administration & Finance

Mary Grambling Lara Habib Michael Hale Courtney Hadley Brian Hamer Alynn Hamilton Marilyn Harbur Helen Hecht Matthew Jones Amanda Karr Ken Koch Ray Langenberg Matthew Largent Keith Linder Michelle Lombardi Eric Mahler Anne Mangiardi Greg Matson Laurie McElhatton Hugh McKinnon Julio Mendoza-Quiroz Carolyn Miller Luke Morris Rondenet Mwangi Laurie Owens Leah Parsons Ian Peacock Josh Pens **Richard Pomp** Nancy Prosser Jordan Raye Brendon Reese Neena Savage David Sawyer Ali Schaefbauer Miranda Scroggins Steven Severson Pamela Shulterbrandt Phil Skinner Victor Simonds Brian Smith Alicia Austin Smith Andrew Soubel

Alaska Attorney General's Office Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts Kansas Department of Revenue Kansas Department of Revenue Multistate Tax Commission

Oregon Department of Justice Multistate Tax Commission Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts Nebraska Department of Revenue Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts Washington State Department of Revenue Arkansas Department of Administration & Finance Utah Attorney General Idaho Tax Commission Colorado Attorney General Multistate Tax Commission California Franchise Tax Board Tennessee Attorney General Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts Pennsylvania Department of Revenue Louisiana Department of Revenue Georgia Department of Revenue Georgia Department of Revenue Idaho Tax Commission

Colorado Department of Revenue University of Connecticut Law School Multistate Tax Commission Kansas Department of Revenue Colorado Department of Revenue Rhode Island Division of Taxation EY South Dakota Department of Revenue Louisiana Department of Revenue Minnesota Department of Revenue Georgia Department of Revenue Idaho Office of Attorney General Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts Avalara Arkansas Department of Administration & Finance Wolters Kluwer

Nicholas Souza	Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
Jenn Stosberg	Multistate Tax Commission
John Stringer	Mississippi Department of Revenue
Kate Talley	Montana Department of Revenue
Bridget Thomas	Mississippi Department of Revenue
Joe Thronson	South Dakota Department of Revenue
Jimmy Valenzuela	
Esther Van Mourik	Colorado Department of Revenue
Deborah Van Wyke	Colorado Department of Revenue
Dee Wald	New Mexico Department of Taxation and Revenue
Darren Weirnick	Oregon Department of Justice
Jonathan White	Multistate Tax Commission
Paul Williams	Law 360
Jessica Wisner	
Brad Young	Arkansas Department of Administration & Finance

# II. Approval of August 1, 2022 minutes

The minutes were approved as submitted without objection.

#### III. Initial Public Comment Period

No persons spoke.

#### IV. Annual review of the Litigation Committee charter

The Chair briefly described the contents of the Charter and then invited comments. General Counsel Nancy Prosser proposed two changes to the Governance section (section V). The Chair moved for adoption of these changes. No one expressed an objection. No other person offered comments or proposed changes.

## V. New or other business

The Chair proposed that this agenda item be addressed next. No one offered any new business.

#### VI. Update on the MTC legal team and services

General Counsel Nancy Prosser briefly described the work of the legal team and introduced each of the members of the MTC legal staff.

# VII. Panel of former state administrative law judges of Texas

Victor Simonds. Jennifer Burleson, and Matthew Jones shared their insights and perspectives as former tax ALJs and answered questions from both the panel moderator, Ray Langenberg, and the audience.

# VIII. Discussion to solicit Litigation Committee member program ideas, to include attorney training sessions

The Chair invited attendees to propose topics for future attorney trainings. He suggested that the subject of insurance taxes be addressed in the future. Michael Fatale expressed support for this idea. Shannon Brandt suggested that a training address new technologies, such as the metaverse, virtual property, and new types of tobacco products.

# X. Adjournment

The Chair proposed that the meeting be adjourned. There were no objections. The meeting ended shortly before 10 a.m. Austin time.